Slaves to Technology? (Life Without a Smartphone and Other Such Things)

Could you go a day without your smartphone? How about two, three days? A week? Honestly, I don’t think I could. I recently went to a three day rock festival, Rock on the Range, and I didn’t want to bring my iPhone. I didn’t have the ability to tweet, check Facebook or text anyone. It was partially nice to be unreachable and partially unsettling. I know I’m not the only person to feel this way. Tory Shepherd comments in this article. Like Shepherd, many of us can’t stand not having our phones with us 24/7.

Other technological items are equally difficult to be without for more than a few hours, perhaps minutes. How long does the average person use the computer a day? And what happens to us when these computers fail and go down? Absolute anarchy. Society screeches to a halt. What about TV? Could you miss your favorite show, or watch it without DVR?

Again, Shepherd comments in the article that in an Australian survey, nine out of ten people under the age of 30, are addicted to their smartphones. And another survey claims that people are spending up to 16 hours per day using technology. Think of what you could accomplish in 16 hours if you weren’t hooked into our technological civilization. Shepherd also comments that the United Kingdom offers a summer camp for adults meant as a “digital detox.” Honestly, I don’t know if I could do that.

Leave a Reply

